Disclosing Sustainability

The Transformative Power of Transparency?

The Environmental Policy Group (Wageningen University) organizes a conference titled "Disclosing Sustainability: The Transformative Power of Transparency?", June 24-25 2016. 


Please see below for an overview of the program and sessions, including opening and closing times.

Update: detailed conference program available below (final version June 15). Click the button to view/download the .pdf file.

Overview of Conference Program

Friday (24 June)

8:00-8:45      Registration and coffee

9:00-10:30    Opening plenary

  • Welcome and Introduction to the Conference, Aarti Gupta
  • Keynotes by Arthur Mol, and Hans Bruyninckx

10:30-11:00    Coffee break

11:00-12:30    Parallel panel sessions - I

12:30-13:30    Lunch

13:30-15:00   Plenary: Transparency and Empowerment

  • Speakers: Susan Park, Simon Marvin, Magnus Boström

15:00-15:30    Coffee break

15:30-17:00    Parallel panel sessions - II

18:00-22:00   Dinner

Saturday (25 June)


9:00-10:30    Plenary: Transparency and Governance

  •  Speakers: Elena Fagotto, Phil Macnaghten, Angel Hsu

10:30-11:00   Coffee break

11:00-12:30    Parallel panel sessions - III

12:30-13:30    Lunch

13:30-15:00   Parallel panel sessions - IV

15:00-15:30   Coffee break

15:30-17:15   Closing Plenary: Reflections and Future Directions

  • Speakers: Gert Spaargaren, Virginia Haufler, Graham Smith

Extra social activities: For participants who indicated their interest in participating in the social programme, travel to and back from Amsterdam by bus is arranged and free of charge. Dinner and activities in Amsterdam at participants’ own expense. On Sunday, a trip into the forested nature area, the Hoge Veluwe, and to the Kröller-Müller Museum, is organized for participants who indi-cated their interest in joining. The whole trip, including travel and food/drinks, is free of charge.

Keynote and plenary speakers

The following keynote and plenary speakers are confirmed:

Hans Bruyninckx, Professor and Executive Director, European Environment Agency

Magnus Boström, Orebro University

Elena Fagotto, Harvard University

Aarti Gupta, Wageningen University

Virginia Haufler, University of Maryland

Angel Hsu, Yale University

Phil Macnaghten, Wageningen University

Simon Marvin, University of Sheffield

Arthur Mol, Wageningen University

Susan Parks, University of Sydney

Graham Smith, University of Westminster

Gert Spaargaren, Wageningen University